The College is a Federation of St Richard Reynolds Catholic Primary School and St Richard Reynolds Catholic High School.

Andrew ColeIt is conducted on behalf of the Diocese of Westminster by a single Governing Body chaired by Andrew Cole KSG. Mr Cole has many years of experience as a school governor and leads a body of dedicated and talented people committed to providing the highest standards of education for all pupils at the College. There are twenty-two governors, the majority of whom are Foundation Governors, appointed by the Archbishop of Westminster, whose statutory duties include preserving and developing the Catholic character of the College. Foundation Governors are drawn from the Catholic community across the whole borough and beyond. The Governing Body includes parent, staff and local authority governors, as well as the Principal and others co-opted to provide specialist knowledge and skills.


St Richard Reynolds Catholic College Governing Body


The governing body is organised into a number of committees each with terms of reference setting out its responsibilities and delegated powers. These committees meet regularly and report to the chairman’s committee and the full governing body. The governing body is bound by a Code of Conduct. The main committees are:

      • Chairman’s Committee
      • Admissions
      • Community and Stewardship
      • Curriculum
      • Finance and Premises
      • Personnel and Pay
      • Primary Committee

Other committees are convened as the need arises to deal with matters such as pupil discipline.

The Chairman’s Committee convenes as the need arises. Its purpose is to discuss broader issues affecting all committee business.  Its membership includes the committee chairs and the College Leadership Team. The Primary Committee is also made up of the committee chairs. The Chairman and the Principal attend all meetings. 

Governors’ Code of Practice

Instrument of Government

If you wish to contact the chairman of any member of the governing body, you may do so through the Clerk to the Governing Body, Mrs Eileen Wilson in the College office.

Andrew Cole KSG - Foundation Governor and Chairman
Richmond LA Representative of the RC Diocese of Southwark on the Richmond Admissions Forum of which he is vice chairman; former member of the Council Scrutiny Committee; Trustee of The Sisters of Charity of St Louis; over fifteen years' experience as a school governor; parishioner of St Osmund’s, Barnes; Managing Director of a design consultancy in Camden Town. Mr Cole was made a Knight of the Order of Pope St Gregory the Great by His Holiness Pope Francis in 2014.

Keri Goddard - Foundation Governor and Vice Chairman
Parishioner of St Edmund's, Whitton. Keri is a senior lecturer in law and a qualified solicitor.

Janet Byrne - Staff Governor

Ms Byrne is Head of Year 10 and teacher of PE. She has over 7 years of experience teaching in schools and studied locally at St. Mary's University and completed her teacher training at Brunel University.

Father Nigel Griffin - Foundation Governor
Parish priest of St Edmund of Canterbury, Whitton.

Richard Burke - Foundation Governor ex-officio
The first Principal of St Richard Reynolds, Mr Burke was formerly the head teacher at Christ's School, Richmond having previously taught at St Paul’s Catholic College in Sunbury where he was Vice Principal and Richard Challoner School in Kingston-upon-Thames where he was Deputy Head teacher.

Kevin Coakley - Foundation Governor
Kevin also serves as a Foundation Governor at St Edmund's Catholic Primary School, Whitton; Kevin organised a petition in 2011 to show support for a Catholic secondary school in Richmond Borough; teacher in special school for children with autism.

Eddie Doyle - Foundation Governor

A resident of Clifden Road and an active participant in St James’s Catholic community and a member of St James's Finance Committee. With a background in banking, Eddie now runs a treasury consultancy supporting the UK Local Authority sector. Has a son in Year 3 and Reception.

Elaine England - Co-opted Governor
Former head teacher of Sheen Mount Primary School, Elaine England is a former lead inspector for Richmond Council. Mrs England is acting head teacher (maternty cover) of Darell Primary School in Richmond.

Seamus Joyce - Foundation Governor

A parishioner of Our Lady Queen of Peace in Richmond; recently elected to the Governing body at Kingston Hospital; a past parent governor of St Elizabeth's Catholic Primary School; governor representative on the Richmond Community Policing Partnership; active member of the Catenian Association; Seamus works in Licensing and Noise at Westminster Council.

Cllr Helen Lee-Parsons - Co-opted Governor
Liberal Democrat Councillor for West Twickenham, governor at St James’s Catholic Primary School.

Canon Peter Newby KGCO - Foundation Governor
Rector of St Mary Moorfields in the City and Dean of Islington, Canon Newby is chairman of the Diocese of Westminster Art and Architecture Committee and studied Architecture at Cambridge University before training for the priesthood in Rome. Canon Newby was appointed in June 2013 as Episcopal Vicar in Westminster for priest formation.

Paul O’Donnell - Foundation Governor
Parish Councillor at Our Lady Queen of Peace, East Sheen; member of the Mortlake Deanery Pastoral Council; Children’s Liturgy teacher.

Cllr Thomas O'Malley - Local Authority Governor
Conservative councillor for South Richmond and a governor at St Elizabeth's Catholic Primary School.

Luke Parker - Foundation Governor
A Parishoner of Our Lady Queen of Peace, East Sheen; active in the Friends of Catholic Secondary Education in Richmond campaign; Luke works in sales and marketing in global technology firms.

Vivien Rimmer - Foundation Governor
A parishioner of St Edmund's Whitton; Vivien’s professional experience is in Child Protection, Children with Disabilities and Looked After Children; a social worker for 15 years she has worked as an Independent Reviewing Officer for Richmond for the last 10 years and ws appointed as the Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO) for Richmond upon Thames this year.

Monsignor William Saunders - Foundation Governor
Dean of Mortlake and parish priest of Our Lady Queen of Peace, East Sheen, Mgr Saunders is a former teacher.

Dr Paddy Walsh - Foundation Governor
Grandfather of 3 boys at St Elizabeth's Primary; semi-retired educationist (Institute of Education); writer and researcher about Catholic education; experienced Catholic school governor of Maria Fedilis School.

Paul Barber - Associate Member
Director of the Catholic Education Service, Paul is a barrister and Canon lawyer who, as Director of Education for the Diocese of Westminster, was instrumental in drawing up the proposal for the College. Mr Barber is also a member of the Legal Affairs Commission of the Commission of Bishops’ Conferences of the European Union.

Members of the Senior Leadship Team also attend governing body meetings as required.